The Man, The Legend, The Sess…

My introduction to the gaming industry as something more than just an export business, came primarily through the vantage point of G4 and X-Play. It was Adam Sessler and Morgan Webb, two names that have come to command a great deal of respect and authority among those that care about video games beyond the game, that first taught me what it meant to examine video games in the same way that we view music, film, and even literature. In the days after the needless departure of X-Play and the G4 network as a whole, Webb has been far less present in the scene than her counterpart. And that’s unfortunate.

Sessler however was quickly snatched up by Rev3 Games after his departure from G4 and put to work doing what he does best, examining games beyond the point of sitting down to play them. It was through Adam Sessler that I began to see games as art and realize that the intent of the developer mattered perhaps just as much as the final result. While I don’t credit Sessler with single-handedly shaping my view of gaming, I would be negligent to dismiss his contribution.

So it is with some degree of loss, that I learned today that Adam Sessler is largely moving on from his position as a gaming journalist powerhouse. In his own words: http://sessactual.tumblr.com/

“After some incredible achievements over the last year and a half, I am announcing my departure from Rev3 Games and Discovery Digital Networks.  Sixteen years in front of the camera covering the videogame industry has brought me to a point where I am ready and desiring to explore new opportunities.  While I would never say no to doing one more review, interview or opinion piece, the time feels right to explore new avenues inside of gaming that help further the medium.  The audience, my wonderful and talented co-workers and the last year at Rev3 Games will forever be appreciated for what was accomplished.  There never is a right time to part ways with something that has become as natural as breathing, but things do end and now feels right.”

I thank Adam for his insight into gaming, his wealth of knowledge, and general amount of joy and legitimacy he has brought to the field of gaming journalism. Without him, video game journalism wouldn’t be what it is today. So long and good luck in your future endeavours.

Leave a Reply

