Delays….

So it was my plan…intention to have my next book (Orbital Defiance, the first book in the New Haven Chronicles series) done by the first of march.  Yeah, that’s not going to happen.  Progress has been slower than I expected and it’s taking me longer to get through my second edit/revision than I had hoped.  And it still has to be given a look over by my newly acquired editor.  Yay, for fewer typos and grammatical errors.  I could try to rush it and do it half assed, but I really want to do it fully assed…what I mean is that I want to get it right.  I’m by no means a perfectionist, but there is certainly a line between good enough and the best you can make it.  And I’m not there yet.  Soon, but not yet.

Additionally, this has also pushed back a few other things.  A revised copy of Method of Life is coming…soonish, along with it being available through additional vendors as well as in physical copy.  There won’t be any story changes…probably.  So if you’re looking for that, than too bad.  This is mainly just another revision, from the editor I mentioned before.  It always helps to have another set of eyes, smarter eyes, look over your work.  When working on something for so long, you can begin to ignore problems that have been right there staring you in the face.  You also have to admit to yourself when you’ve done the most you can on your own and find outside help to get you to that next level.

I sort of want to add some things to Method, story wise, but I don’t know when I’ll find the time to write them.  It wouldn’t change the story, but rather expand on a few of the character relationships.
And then there is the issue of having two versions of the book out there.  Though at this point, so few people have bought it, read it, that it might not even matter.  I’m not exactly getting Harry Potter numbers here.  Not yet anyway.  You’re going down Potter!

A short story might accomplish the same thing, while not having to try and shoehorn two or three more scenes into the flow of the book.  I like that idea better I think.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

